31AUG2022

Hi friends!

Starting a blog is always a little difficult for me, so I'm just going to jump in!

Building my own website has been a really fun experience so far. This is the first time I've ever tried.

I've still got a lot to learn about HTML, but it's fairly easy to pick up. I'm grateful for that. I took a computer science class in high school that I didn't get to finish because I moved away. I remembered far less than I thought I did, but for once I didn't let that discourage me, and here we are!

I really enjoy the rainbow on black scheme I managed. I think that's going to be a lasting theme, even when I do manage to figure out how to give my site a sidebar and remodel. I'm trying to figure out how to do it on my own without poaching code from a premade source. At least I will, when the lack of one finally gets to me.

I also want to make aesthetic codes, in the vein of livejournal profile codes, or tumblr graphics. I'm not sure what I want to make yet or in what style, but it's a goal. I know how to make a basic gif, so I'll probably start with that. Gilmore Girls and First Kill, here I come!

One my favorite artists, [ Simz ] made an art challenge for September. While I don't draw, I mentioned that I'd love to use it for writing prompts, and they liked it, so I'm going to try it! To manage expectations, it's a daily challenge. I like to do original fiction, and I also tend to write in shorter snippets. I wish I was one of those multi-novel length writers, like those common in fandom spaces, but sadly I'm not.

Thanks to the hubbub over the James Webb telescope, I've discoverd that NASA has a [ soundcloud ]. Their most recent offering is an album turning Webb data in to sound. It's lovely. It's on Spotify, but there's an album NASA put out called Nasa Voyager Space Sounds that's also worth a listen. Warning: it can get unexpectedly eery, and if you're sound sensitive, I couldn't get through the track "Rings of Uranus". Constant high pitches and such.

I've also been on the hunt for interactive fiction game to try. Mostly Twine/CYOA for now. If you have any recommendations, let me know. Just not anything in the horror genre, if you please. My Twitter feed somehow dropped me into otome/visual novel territory and while I can definitely learn from that, I want to see what other things have been made outside that game style.

I suppose that's it for now. By my next entry, I hope to have added some of my fiction to the site and have played some cool IF games to share.

Until next time! Sloane

[ next ]

[ guestbook ] [ home page ] [ blog index ]

♡♡♡